

HEALTH WORFORCE ACCESS PROGRAM

Guidelines 2019 - 20

The Health Workforce Access Program focuses on improving access and continuity of access to essential primary health care for communities, particularly in priority areas identified either through the Health Workforce Needs Assessment process or by the Australian Government Department of Health.

Relocation Grants are designed to provide support to health professionals who are relocating to a priority area in rural Victoria as identified in the annual Health Workforce Needs Assessment undertaken by RWAV, and approved by the Australian Government Department of Health.

Eligibity Criteria

To be eligible you must:

a) Be one of the eligible health professions and providing services in the private or non-state government primary health sector e.g general practice, private allied health practitioner or a no-government organisation

- b) Be providing a minimum of 0.6 FTE per week;
- c) Relocate to one of the eligible priority areas;

d) Commit to providing a minimum of one (1) year of service to that rural community (health professionals receiving a Relocation Grant who leave the specified community within the one (1) year commitment period may be required to refund their grant);

e) Submit your application within two (2) months of moving and commencing practice.

Relocation Grant

The Relocation Grant will be \$2,000 and paid as an upfront payment to successful applicants to support relocation, removal and accommodation assistance costs.

Eligible Health Professions

The following health professionals are eligible to apply if they have commenced practice or accepted a position in a priority area and meet the eligibility criteria:

- Aboriginal Health Worker
- Dietetics and Nutrition
- Exercise Physiology
- Nurses
- Nurse Practitioners
- Occupational Therapy
- Oral Health
- Osteopathy
- Orthotics and Prosthetics
- Physiotherapy
- Podiatry
- Psychology
- Speech Pathology
- Audiology
- Optometry
- Pharmacy
- Radiography
- Sonography
- Social Work

Application Process

All applications must be made through the RWAV website.

Applications will be assessed based on:

a) The location of your employment (priority area);

b) Applicant criteria;

c) Demonstration of primary health service provision to rural and remote community;

You may be asked to provide more information to support your application.

Submitting your application does not mean you will be offered a relocation grant.

Documentary Evidence Required in Application

a) Proof of Employment in a letter that:

- is on your employer's letterhead and from your immediate manager. If you are selfemployed please provide your ABN and detail services provided, location/s, hours of service delivery;
- is dated and signed within the last three months;
- states your name as the applicant, including evidence of a name change if the receipt is not in your professional registration name;
- states your position title;
- states your employment status (full-time/ part-time hours);
- states the location of primary health services provided;
- states the length of your employment in your present position;

b) Any other supporting documentation relevant to the application.

Complaints and Appeals

Unsuccessful applicants who wish to appeal the outcome of their application should lodge an appeal with the RWAV Team Leader – Access to consider their case. The RWAV Team Leader – Access is the final arbiter for any appeal in respect of Relocation Grants.

Further Information

Any questions relating to the Relocation Grant should be directed to:

Grants administrator, RWAV

Email: grants@rwav.com.au Telephone: (03) 93497800

Information including these guidelines and application form can be found on the RWAV website www.rwav.com.au RWAV | 10 2017 | 20 | 001.4

Eligible Locations

The priority areas identified in the annual Health Workforce Needs Assessment for 2019-20 are:

	\sim	
	SA 2 REGION TOWNS	SA 2 REGION
-	Ararat	Ararat
-	Beaufort	Beaufort
	Benalla	Benalla
	Bruthen-Omeo	Omeo
	Buloke	Charlton, Sea Lake, Donald, Wycheproof
1	Camperdown	Camperdown
	Castlemaine Region	Maldon, Tarrengower
	Churchill	Churchill
/	Cohuna	Cohuna
	Corangamite- South	Cobden, Timboon
	Foster	Foster, Tarwin Lower, Toora
	Glenelg	Heywood, Casterton, Dartmoor, Merino
	Horsham	Horsham
(Kerang	Kerang
	Kyabram	Kyabram
	La Trobe Valley	Moe-Newborough, Morwell, Traralgon, Yallourn North-Glengarry
	Leongatha	Leongatha, Leongatha South, Mirboo North
	Loddon	Boort, Wedderburn, Inglewood, Pyramid Hill
	Longford-Loch Sport	Loch Sport
	Maffra	Maffra, Heyfield
	Maryborough	Maryborough
	Mildura Region	Ouyen, Murrayville
	Mount Baw Baw Region	Jindivick, Neerim South, Rawson
	Nagambie	Nagambie
	Nhill Region	Nhill, Dimboola, Kaniva, Rainbow, Jeparit
	Orbost	Buchan, Cann River, Gelantipy, Lake Tyers, Mallacoota, Nowa Nowa, Orbost
	Otway	Apollo Bay
	Paynesville	Paynesville
	Port Arlington	Port Arlington, St Leonards
	Portland	Portland
	Robinvale	Robinvale
	Sale	Sale
	St Arnaud	St Arnaud
	Stawell	Stawell
	Wonthaggi- Inverloch	Wonthaggi, Inverloch
	Yarram	Yarram
	Yarrawonga	Yarrawonga