Victorian Rural Health Awards

Victorian Rural Health Awards

Since 2005 Rural Workforce Agency Victoria (RWAV) has proudly hosted the annual Victorian Rural Health Awards to recognise the outstanding contributions made by health professionals working in rural communities.

The awards honour the exceptional medical professionals, nurses, allied health professionals, Aboriginal health workers and practice managers working across rural Victoria.

In 2021, the Victorian Rural Health Awards ceremony were held online on 10 June 2021.

RWAV acknowledges the support of the Victorian Government to enable the holding of the Victorian Rural Health Awards.

Congratualations to our 2021 VRHA Winners!

  • Outstanding contribution by a rural GP: Dr Peter “Justin” Madden - Otway Medical Clinic
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural Generalist: Dr Elizabeth Garoni - Mt Beauty Medical Centre and The Gardens Albury
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Nurse/Midwife: Louise Holland - Bendigo Community Health Services
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural Allied Health Professional: Dr Naomi Malone - A Life Simply Lived Psychology, Boort
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural Practice Manager: Miffanwy Shelton - Corangamite Clinic Colac
  • Outstanding Contribution by a Rural Outreach Provider: Dr Andrew Horwood (outreach to Wimmera region)
  • Rising Star Award: Muhammad Yousuf - HeadtoHelp Wellington (Sale)
  • Closing the gap award: Dr Karoline Gunn - Gunditjmara Aboriginal Cooperative, Warrnambool